Euro v. US type questions

So I watched this video -

… and the interview-ee mentioned a couple of things that made me curious.

He mentioned getting a Euro kart manufacturer to make mods so the their karts would work better here in the US. I’m assuming that that would be because of the higher weight mins, and harder tires? Do the Euro manufacturers sell different karts to the US market than the Euro?

He also mentioned that the SKUSA SSE motor wouldn’t work with a particular Euro chassis, but that a KZ would. Why would that be?

Thanks,
Dave

I am not an expert on this topic, but I believe it has more to do with the asphalt and the amount of rubber they get on the tracks in Euro v. here

It will be interesting to see what others say.

Mostly comes down to tires and rubber build-up. European racing typically is using a softer tire, and the tracks take a lot of rubber build-up.

Most karts can be tuned to work on a wide range of grip levels and different tires, but sometimes for tight club racing tracks or low grip situations you see here on a local level, a different chassis construction might benefit more.

First of all you got to take these things with a pinch of salt. People are trying to run a business and this is a marketing avenue. It helps sell product if your product is designed for the market.

On tires, it depends which tires you are running. But if your championship runs Le Conts, then you are running the same tires as the OK World Championship. Now there will of course be a difference in the amount of rubber going down, just based on the number of people on track. But a lot of regional and national championships in the states have more entries then the CIK championships so its probably not that.