Newbie here!

Hey everyone my names Clark.
I’m 28 located in Louisiana near New Orleans.
I’m looking to get pretty serious about karting. I have a choice between doing a budget track car like a old Honda or a Miata or karting with the money I’m looking to spend. Seems like karting is the best bang for the buck and the most quality seat time.
I’m doing arrive and drive stuff right now as well as a arrive and drive league when my local track opens back up.

I’m mainly looking on advice on getting started as well as getting into L0206 and what chassis would be good for a beginner. I do have wrenching experience (installed parts and my supercharger kit on my old 5th gen camaro) so I could learn about wrenching on a kart.

1 Like

Hey Clark,
Welcome. Sounds like you’ve already started and gotten to stage 2, buying a kart.
Do you have a handle on what series you’d participate in wether club or otherwise? Chassis and engine package tend to be what’s locally popular.

I’ve pretty much made up my mind on entering L0206. As for chassis I’m looking for something used. I’m considering even buying a used kart and converting whatever motor is on it to the Briggs crate engine package. It seems like it’s fairly straight forward.
What are some things you wish you guys knew before you started?

I would highly advise to make sure you buy a chassis that is specifically made for 4 strokes like the L0206. Figuring out base setup with the chassis was feel more “right” because it will have the right engine made for the chassis on it.

So many things. Rib protector for one. Sunscreen and hat. Foldable chair, etc.

As far as which kart, whatever the rest of the gang runs. Typically there will be a couple outfits that may or may not be connected to the track that sell and service new and used. Odds are thats where most of the karts locally raced are coming from. Ergo, that’s the brand (for parts reasons) you will likely want to buy.