Oscillations in kart frame - KartKraft

Hello. This may be a sim thing but I think I saw some discussion at one point.

The kart gets an oscillation in it that grows and then ebbs. It gets to the point that the kart is hopping and you can lose control.

Hitting a kerb can set it off but high speed sweepers seem to be especially problematic.

Here’s a vid.

Any ideas what to tune to get rid of this?

Looks like some kind of error in the physics engine of the game.

Ok so random hopping isn’t a thing then?

Nothing happens randomly on a kart in the real world. The kart is inert and only responds to the forces and inputs you give it and the constraints of the physical world.

My point was that this looks super unusual and not something I have seen in this context in the real world, so it’s likely some anomaly in the physics engine of the game itself. I’m not a game developer so I don’t know how that sort of stuff works, but “hopping” in a real kart is a sequence of issues involving deflection of multiple types of metal and other materials, and I find it hard to believe that KK could attain that kind of fidelity to replicate “hopping” within the sim. I could be wrong.

I believe a lot of times in sim games like this, there are tweaks and changes within the code to get the kart to feel realistic, without programming the entirety of known physics into the game. So no matter how close the game feels, it won’t quite be the same as real-life and there could be anomalies in the handling or physics if you hit a bump wrong or some outlying input is sent through the physics engine.

It’s just important to remember that this is a game and any driving or tuning should be viewed through that lens, regardless of how realistic it gets.

Sure, agreed. That being said they are modeling something. Things can get kooky and what happens IRL gets exaggerated.

I thought I recalled a discussion about this or some other problem that involved hopping.

Maybe it’s tuneable.