Questions on My Vampire VT250 Engine

I just need to know, you see where the glove is? The glove is covering the carburator, and i was just wondering if it needs like an air filter or do i just keep it open?

1 Like

Welcome Lorenzo,
Can you give some detail about engine and carb? That might help.

As an aside I’ve never seen an akrapovic kart exhaust before.

The engine looks like something along the Biland SA250\Swissauto line?
I would definitely put a filter on there, or at the very least an airbox.

I dont have a lot of information on it, i will list all the information i have on it now. And i am new to karts i just got this as my first ever kart which i have to do some maintance on, and yes i know this isnt a good option for a first kart but i got a very good deal on it.

Vampire rotax 30hp engine
Trulli frame
Mojo tires
Akrapovic exhaust
Tiller T8 handmade seat

1 Like

I dont know a lot about this kart but the engine is a rotax vampire engine

Ah yes. Vampire is another engine in that line of high performance overhead cam engines. It is not made by rotax however, it was made by Suter and production stopped in 2008.

Looks like spares are still available…

https://www.beneduracing.com/en/246-vampire-vt250

Not to say you won’t have a LOT of fun with it! They are fast, from that perspective maybe not the ideal starting kart, but it is a fairly hassle free package. Inspect the timing belt of course.

Think you will find it’s a Suter Vampire not Rotax.
Give it a google and see what you think.
Definitely needs a filter.
James beat me to it!!

I thought rotax was like the category, well now at least i know the engine model.

Hopefully i wont need spares, but in the future i will definetely need some. And i thought rotax was like a category, but at least now i know the engine model, and from the pictures i saw of the engine it looks like it needs an air filter.

I wonder if it was perhaps run with the Rotax Max class. That’s conceivable…