A culture age-out: unfortunate there aren't more 30+ yr old drivers competing in senior classes

I’ve been karting for a few years now, and realized something which makes karting kind of strange in terms of autosports norms; there are very, very few examples older drivers (lets say 30 and over) racing against those younger. This seems true at almost every level of the sport; national, regional, or club.

It’s a shame that this is the case, because there are a couple negative effects for karting. In my case, for instance; in my 40’s, just under 150lbs, which puts me exactly in the middle of my ‘ideal weight’ according to my height (5’7"). Practically speaking, my choices are to either bolt on 40 pounds in order to glacially slow my kart in order that I can race with the few other old guys (not appealing for me personally), or else just not race at all. I’d be happy to race in a senior class, which is what I fit in weight wise, and feel that I can keep the pace there - but there’s no world in which I’m doing that either, because I don’t feel like trying to pioneer this type of situation in the midst of a culture that doesn’t seem to really accept it (nevermind avoiding the potential issues that come with racing against those karters in the senior class which might be still be accompanied by their aggressive parent(s)).

I’ve been driving for ‘fun’ and not racing since I’ve started in karting so I can keep that up, but for the sport it seems like a shame that there’s not more frequency of overlap in the age of drivers in the senior categories.

2 Likes

The top 3 in KZ in the world have a higher average age than the top 3 in F1, so don’t despair, Fore is in his mid 40s :slight_smile:

But yes I think you’ve observed something that I have noticed anecdotally from a cultural perspective and that is the Juniorfication of Karting.