Another noob looking for advice

Hey guys, total noob here. I apologize in advanced as i know there is tons of great information already posted on here but i have a few questions so i figured this would be the best way to at least get pointed in the right direction.

I’m 35 years old from southern West Virginia. fairly strong mechanical background (worked on industrial air equipment, heavy equipment and hvac certified over the last 10 years.) on top of 25 years of riding, racing and working on dirtbikes.

To the point.
I’m looking to get into karting. my biggest questions are being about the type of kart chassis. as i mentioned I live in southern WV so most of the tracks near me are dirt track style racing and will probably be the main setup I’m going for. But with that being said I’d like to have a kart capable of being run on an asphalt road course style tracks as well. can a kart chassis be setup to run both styles?
Looking to build a shifter setup, I’d like to buy a bare chassis and build it up myself seeing how I enjoy that aspect of all motorsports. so any websites, companies or any other recommendations would be much appreciated.

1 Like

Short answer is no. Chassis are dedicated, venue-specific designs. Although a dirt chassis is physically capable of running on asphalt, it probably wouldn’t be allowed, nor would it be compatible; inch + high sprint/RR chassis & dirt courses simply don’t mix.

I guess you could get & do both. That’s up to you. You know what’s available in your area relative to the distance you’re be willing to travel, so that should help with the decision.

1 Like

What Spencer said. The oval karts are designed to go left. I think these below are oval chassis:
Here’s a Sprint:

1 Like

There are a couple of exceptions out there where tracks run traditional sprint chassis on oval, as well as sprint tracks that are mostly left turns and an oval kart works OK…

Once in a while you’ll see an oval race organized for sprint type karts…