Arm pain. Could it be tendon damage?

I’ve been reading this forum for several months, among other sources online and in print (including Terence’s book), to try and gleam as much information as I can to help with the problem, but still it persists.

I’m a 30 year old novice driver who only recently got into karting (rental) 8 months ago, and initially went frequently, until I started experiencing a pain on the inside of my elbow, which would flair up usually a day after karting. This pain was exacerbated when playing other sports, and ended up putting my arm out of action for days at a time, and meant I had to take several weeks off karting between sessions. Over the past 4 months, I’ve only been on track twice, to try and let my arm recover, but still the pain returns after karting. So now I’m turning to the collective experience and expertise of this forum, to help me pinpoint and hopefully alleviate the problem.

I’m starting to think it may be tendon damage (on the inside of the elbow), which may be similar to Golfer’s Elbow. Is there such a thing as Karter’s Elbow?

The pain occurs when pulling or lifting, so I think the injury was the result of me pulling on the steering well as I turned. To combat this, I now try to push on the wheel to turn, have adjusted my seat position forward, bought decent grippy gloves, softened my grip and adjusted my hand position lower on the wheel, as well as trying to improve my posture.

I’ve found this forum to be a great source of knowledge, so I’m hoping there’s someone here who can shed some light on this, or maybe has experienced it and is able to offer some advice.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Would your elbow be occasionally hitting the cylinder head?

If your condition persists, see a physician.

1 Like