Best LO206 setup for LO206 asphalt racing on technical tracks

Hi guys, so I’m new to the LO206 class. I used to run X-30, but had to move to 206 because I simply couldn’t afford that class anymore. I need help with my tune. I’ll be racing in Florida for the most part. Mainly central and southern.

Run whatever idle it’s happy with on the day. Don’t overthink the setup too much at first, just run It and you’ll probably find it’s in ballpark.

1 Like

You should come run with us in Jacksonville Florida at 103rd street sports complex. we had over 100 entries last Saturday. About 90 of them are 206 racers. We have Senior lite, heavy and master classes.

2 Likes

Here’s mine:

• Idle screw all the way out. It obstructs the airflow in the carburetor. Essentially you set your idle with a little bit of throttle, and that can be adjusted with the throttle cable nut at the top of the carb.

• Float height .872"

• Float drop I never mess with, it drops where it drops :slight_smile:

• Needle position 5 (richest)

• Air screw 5 turns out (yes, I know)

• Valve lash makes zero difference, but in theory the closer to 0 the better, so if you are setting them, just put them both at 2 and be done with it

• I run a hilliard flame clutch with two black springs and two white springs, no weights

• Make sure that the carburetor is aligned with the intake manifold, and as level as possible

Note that it won’t idle very well, but you don’t race at idle. I never adjust my carburetor with those settings, and its competitive all the time. I’m in senior at 360# weight.