Brake Failure

Bottom line…Rheggeti brake system on LO206 K&K Kart . I’m experiencing intermittent loss of brake pressure which comes back to normal with one or two pedal pumps. New calipers/pads, fluid, and fresh bleed. Suspect master failure but confused by intermittent issue. No fluid leaks.

I’m new to karting and recently purchased a K&K LO206 kart. Did a lot of test and tune sessions over the winter. On our first spring track session the kart had intermittent brake failure. The brakes worked fine 99% of the time. On two occasions coming hot into a corner, the pedal bottomed out with complete loss of pressure. Swapped out calipers, bled the system, and tested again. Same issue. Brakes work perfect then randomly bottom out with no pressure. I’m going to swap in a new master as I suspect it is a blown seal in the master. The randomness if it is really confusing. Anyone experience anything like this or have any suggestions?

I would suggest replacing all the seals throughout the master cylinder first as that is the only thing you haven’t replaced yet. It sounds like air is getting in somehow so you just have to find where that is. Others may have better suggestions, but I would start by replacing the master seals and if that still doesn’t fix the issue maybe consider getting a whole new one.

1 Like

Random loss of pressure but no visible leaks. That’s an interesting one. Is it possible the axle is sliding around in the axle bearings and overheating the rotor/pads?

Usually that wouldn’t quite make the pedal go to the floor, but stranger things have happened.

A seal kit should be readily available for that brake system I would imagine. For finding leaks, sometimes the caliper seals leak just enough behind the pad to lose pressure, but you won’t see a leak unless you remove the pad. Another place is the master cylinder in front of the piston, behind the dust cap.

Lastly, you could have a pinhole in a line somewhere.