Brake Lines full of air - new to karting

Hi,

I’m still really new to this karting, and doing it for my two boys who absolutely loved the 2 times we’ve been.

I’ve brought a kart last year, and after leaving it standing for 6months the brake line is full of air. I’ve had a look online and on YouTube, but I can’t see anyone that has the same brake system as on my kids kart.
I’ve attrached a couple of images, if anyone could point me in the right direction I’d be HUGELY appreciative.

I’ll let more experienced guys chime in but seems to me you need to bleed your brakes. That flushes the air out. Basically, you unscrew a bolt cap on the master cylinder and attach a gravity fed brake bleeder. There’s a thing you unscrew on the opposite end, back at the caliper as well. This opens the system and allows the gravity to push the air out, replacing it with fluid. It’s a bit messy if you allow the brake fluid to get all over the place. It also is not good for your chassis paint.

Oh yeah, also make sure to not mix up brake fluid and mix different types. Others can advise better on what DOT fluid you might have in there.

This is it in a nutshell. The process involves bleeding fluid from the caliper side while adding it in on the master cylinder (MC) side. I recommend a brake bleed kit to make it easy to draw the fluid out into a drain container & alleviate mess. Be sure to confirm the compatible DOT fluid type for your brakes. Oils/fluids don’t mix & match.

Step 1: Find the bleed point on the caliper (It might be that hex cap screw over the smaller pot piston, next to the input brake fluid line in the 1st pic, but I’m not sure), & connect the bleed pump to it.
Step 2: Locate the MC fill point (Looks like the allen bolt on the top, right above the output brake line. You’ll need to thread on a MC filler like the one Dom posted.