Brake Prone to Locking

How do I make the brakes less prone to lockup?

I am new to karting and have an LO206 powered CompKart 4R. It is very difficult to modulate the brakes and very prone to lockup. I had a very experienced racer drive the kart and he concurs that the brakes are prone to lockup. After a few laps he gave up braking and just coasted around. What can I do to change the feeling of the brakes and prevent them from grabbing causing a lockup?

More information. The brake pads are Free Line 10.7594.00 (banana pads) and were glazed. I sanded them against 80 grit then 320 grit on a plate glass surface. They were degreased before and after sanding with brake clean. I cleaned the brake rotor with a red 3M pad and brake clean. The pads had visibly different gaps between them and the rotor. I re-centered the rotor.

What pads should I try and where is a good place to get them. I live in SE Virginia.

Could you move the attachment rod up the pedal to increase the force on the pedal needed to give the same force at the master cylinder?

This, and also see if you can get harder compound brake pads. That’s typically what we do for drivers who have issues with brake modulation or if a kart has particularly sensitive brakes.

1 Like

I have found kart brakes are very easy to push down even on harder compounds in comparison to most racing cars I have driven as such I generally do better on modulation with a harder compound.

WD40 on the disc :joy: (i jest. Don’t do that!)

I’d say it’s all in the pads. For example when I first got my CRG, the chief tech advised me to use different pads. The stock CRG orange had a tendency he said to have little brake effect then straight to lock up. The CRG red pads had much better progressive feel. Orange ones went in the bin.

Try some different pads til you find one that works for you