Cadet Parts and Gear

Where are you located?

East Tennessee

What age bracket are you in? Junior (<16), Senior (16+) or Masters (30+)

Cadet

On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your mechanical ability, or willingness to wrench on things?

10 (I’m a helicopter overhaul mechanic)

Talk a little about your racing experience so far.

My son did an intro into karting at AMP and done rental karts a couple times. I have autocrossed an S2000 and Exige a handful a times.

What’s the main thing you need help with to get you started.

Gearing my son up and parts help for our kart.

———————

Hello. New karters here. We bought a 21 Nitro Cadet kart. It doesn’t have wheels. How do I find out the correct size? We found the correct tire via GoPro Motorplex.

I wish I had a illustrated parts guide or assembly manual with torque values for the kart. I wanted to go over it and check everything. I have a good mechanical feel but working on helicopters I’m a little by the book.

Also my 9yo cadet is a very big kid. 56” tall. Weighs 105 or so. During his intro to karting he ended up wearing an adult small suit and adult xs helmet. It was kinda long but bunched up enough to use it. What are my option for getting his own? Can existing suits be tailored to fit him? Adjusting the arm/leg length shorter? Or should I be looking at a custom made suit? I’m really lost in this and haven’t found any info on this issue. I’d like to get him something nice for his first one even if it’s a little spendy. I have three boys so everything will be sent down the line as well. Ages 9, 4, 2. I always get my moneys worth if it last when buying things for them.

Thanks everyone!

Custom might be a bit spendy for a kid that grows so quick. I think that most custom suits will be in the 500-800 area. However, I believe @Paul_Montopoli had a link to a place that does suits for more like 300ish.

For a nice starter suit, sparco Kerb is a good off the rack one.