Compression Test Rotax Max

Hi I’m new to karting ,
iv just bought a crg framed Rotax 125 pre evo.
I’m just doing all the standard things before I go out on it , changed gear oil , cleaned carb , repaired reeds , checked fuel pump, new fuel lines etc…
Now we have gone into lock down I might have a go at the piston and rings. (What’s the worst that can happen :thinking:) Iv got a Compression tester for the barrel , my pressure is 125psi

Iv been looking on the web and am I right in thinking that a really good barrel pressure is between 145 to 155 psi . If so what psi is considered bad ?
I’m not a black belt mechanic just know enough to get by so any help and input tips or tricks will be appreciated
Thanks
:+1::+1::+1::+1:

1 Like

Are you troubleshooting a problem, or just building this engine up?

125psi is on the low side alright… but…

Gauges can vary a lot. Have you had this one a while?
If you don’t have enough oil on the cylinder walls you’ll see a lower number as well.
Most of the cylinder compression is made by the ring, so for a quick check you could measure the ring gap. I don’t have a number for that unfortunately.

Thanks for the reply :ok_hand:
The pressure gauge is new and Iv has the kart around a year but not had much use . all the tracks are shut around here because of COVID , so I thought I’d just make sure when they do open the kart will be the best it can be .
I’ll have a go at changing the ring , see if that will build the cylinder pressure.

Make sure of three things for an accurate reading on a compression test:

1. There’s adequate oil and fuel getting to the piston ring (run the engine first or crank it over with the ignition off before testing)
  2. The plug is grounded so that you don’t kill the ignition coil
  3. The throttle is opened the whole way after the engine has been spun up by the starter with the throttle closed.

If you’re still getting 125 psi after this, the engine needs a rebuild - maybe as little as a new piston

1 Like