Critique my driving

I had a race last week at the local track and I wanted to ask you guys for some feedback. Apart from TT last year, this is my first year in racing. This was also the first time I was in a bit more serious battle so I wanted to hear some opinions if you have any. I am especially interested to hear if you have any comments over those continuous lockups that I made and few small contacts I had as I was rewarded a time penalty for those.

Here is the race

Thanks!

A little too much looking around when under pressure. I don’t mind a driver looking back once or twice a lap, but too much and you lose focus on driving. You’re looking over your shoulder, worrying about the guy behind multiple times a straight, even in the middle of corners, when you should be focused on your entry, apex, and exit points. One of the main lessons you learn in a high-performance driving school is to look farther ahead, which you can’t do if you’re looking over your shoulder constantly.

Small mistake at 1:40, too much brake input and got loose. Same mistake at 2:29. Good effort at 4:19 trying to go around the outside, but not quite enough of an advantage on him at apex. 7:15 a well-executed squeeze on that guy, forcing him onto a compromised line and causing him to get into the corner too hot and tag the leader.

Overall, I would say that you should’ve never had to deal with that much battling. At the rate you caught back up to the leader, closing up to him from 6-7 kart lengths back in just one lap, you should’ve had control of that race from the front. I think too much worrying about what was going on behind you in the beginning slowed you down and allowed the following drivers too many opportunities.

Work on your mental and emotional confidence so that when you are in the lead like that, you aren’t tempted to constantly worry about getting overtaken and you can focus on driving clean and consistent laps and limit those mistakes.