Energy dual engine kart

Hi I’m new to the go kart scene, I’ve got a energy corse dual engine kart with 2× gx200 engines I’ve come across a few forums that says they are rare is this true or a load of BS?

1 Like

Unicorn if you ask me

Oooh! Post pics, please.

Would be rare in the US for sure. UK not so much, twin engined four stroked are very prevalent there.

Wasn’t aware Energy did one though.

20180930_161105

20180930_160806

20180930_160825

I’m from Australia, both engines run an drive

In the early 1990s twin Honda GX160 engined karts exploded! on to the UK karting scene and were arguably the mainstay of club racing for the next ten years or so. Almost all the UK chassis manufacturers produced a Prokart and were joined later by OTK, Tibikart, MS and no doubt other European brands. Your Energy is typical of the later designs but I have never seen one in UK.

Until then all our non gearbox classes were direct drive 100 cc. The Prokarts were much less challenging to run and brought in a lot of new people.

The later introduction of a cadet class running a single Honda on a scaled down chassis led to an escalation in the cost of ‘fast’ engines in both classes despite the efforts of the rule makers to restrict the advantages of ‘selected parts’ engines. (We are now on version 13a of the technical regs.)

The coming of the Rotax Max led to a decline in Senior Prokarting but there is still a strong and active scene whilst the Honda Cadets are extremely popular.

One of our biggest engine builders have taken a different approach and have used their expertise to produce ’ equalised’ sealed GX 200 engines mainly aimed at the senior market and these have almost entirely taken over from the 160s. Priced at around 500 gbp nobody complains about unequal engines any more.
Karts run at around 175kg. Top chassis reckoned to be Wright, MS and 7 kart in no particular order.

Personally I preferred my single Briggs 20 hp.V twin. Great engine!

1 Like