Engine Tech Enforcement in Kart Racing

I didn’t attend the last round of CKNA South down in Bushnell, FL but the 206 FB groups are ablaze with people crying foul on the fuel line issue, some going as far as to call for the Tech folks to be removed from further races.

I’m new to the sport, but I was curious is this is an atypical situation for those of you who have been around for a while, where somebody circumvents the rulebook or exploits a grey area the rulebook doesn’t quite touch upon?

My understanding is the racer (although DQ’ed) is not the subject of the rants but more so the engine builder who had more than one person in that race series with that modification.

I would say the drama this situation is creating is slightly unique, but not uncommon from what I hear from other CKNA regulars. I’ve attended some events and wasn’t overall very impressed with the quality of the program, but people seem to enjoy it for the most part. I can’t speak to their prowess in tech or the prevalence of blatant cheating in the series. But if you have to issue a press release and there is social media uproar, that usually indicates some sort of unusual circumstance.

I would say at bigger events there are always people pushing the boundaries of the rules, and there are almost always a tech DQ or two at each event, but usually it doesn’t cause a big to-do. Generally it’s something that just fell slightly out of spec or a grey area that was exploited, not a blatant attempt at cheating. And even if a builder is pushing the limits, they are generally aware of what they are doing and don’t get too upset when they get caught for it, other than the disappointment they share with their customer.

Cheating used to be a lot more commonplace, but I would say in the last 10-15 years, tech has gotten far more strict, and cut down on a ton of things that would’ve flown under the radar previously.

But yeah this CKNA situation is not a good look for anyone involved.

1 Like