First Rental League, got any race start tips?

My background is mostly in racing cars and track days. But I’ve spent quite of a bit of time in rentals for fun and practice. Just finished my first league race and it was a blast. I finished 3rd overall but I completely bombed both race starts losing 1-2 positions. Karts are 9hp Sodi.

Where/what are you looking for at the race start?
Do you load the brake at all?
Any other tips or advice?

Ah rental karts, my expertise! With a few exceptions race starts with rentals are no different to racestarts with other engined beasts. but many rental kart drivers are inexperienced and have no clue how to start a race. When you do, you have an advantage. Not only a competitive advantage on track, but also a confidence boost! There is much to gain with proper preparation:

1. Investigate beforehand whether the race will be started with lights or flag. When they use lights, find out how many lights go on before they go out.
  2. Investigate beforehand whether you are allowed to apply throttle and brakes on the startgrid. Some revs might help your getaway but some track owners are afraid you burn their clutches.
  3. Try overtake lines and defensive lines in practice so you know the grip levels off line.
  4. How many risks are you willing to take? For instance, going round the outside in turn 1 can be very benificial when all the others bunch together at the inside. But you are the first to slide on the grass or in the tyre wall when things go south. Defending the inside line is often slower but you are preventing a lunge from the inside. Try to visualise how you would approach the first lap, what lines you want to take and how aggressive you want to be. Of course karting is improvising, but having a plan or even two scenarios in your head helps you to make split-second decisions. How much risk you take depends a lot on your starting position.