Gearing question

First year in karting and I’m trying to fully understand gear ratios. On the track I run at I’m running 16/62 = 3.875, talked to one of the regular leaders today and he runs a 15/57 = 3.8. Can you tell me the pro’s/con’s of both ratios? I’m a rookie so I assume this helps me get out of the corners, but I’m 0.400 off of leaders pace, wondering if it’s worth trying the different gearing and see what happens.

It’s always worth trying different sprockets. Yes a smaller ratio will pull you out of corners faster, but at the cost of top end along the straights. You have to experiment and find the balance that gives you the best time.

It’s usually preferable to run a smaller* front sprocket to let you run a smaller rear to get the same ratio, particularly if there are kerbs you’re bouncing over, smaller rear sprocket gives you that extra bit of clearance reducing the chance of throwing the chain off when it hits the kerb.

Actually that is backwards. A larger gear gets you out of corner faster. 1/1 would mean tire revolves once per engine revolution. At 3.8 the revolves 3.8 times per each revolution of the tire. Effectively give 3.8 times the horsepower to rear wheels.

A 16 tooth is theoretically for efficient than 15 tooth. As front diameter of sprocket approaches 0 the front can not apply force because pulling from center of shaft instead of at a radius. The difference between 15 and 16 is tiny but not zero. On the other hand smaller rear is slightly lighter, less risk of hitting ground, etc. Still tiny difference. So basic difference is competitor would have slightly higher top end and slightly less acceleration using 3.8 compare to your 3.875

2 Likes

Yes sorry, I should drink coffee then reply

Any gear set, with the same ratio, should, theoretically, get you out of the corners exactly the same. Your engine should be turning the same RPM at the end of the straight. Some will disagree, but the numbers are there. I’m going with the numbers.