Getting my 7 y/o Started in Karting

So I am new to karting, but my 7 year old has shown some interest into getting into the sport. How do you get a kid with zero driving experience even started? I’d be different if he/she knew their right from their left. But when they’re that small/ young . . .

The prospect has me scratching my head . . . Grocery store parking lot at midnight?

Any advice?

1 Like

Id say rentals but unless you have a place with the little tyke kind, no go. Think most places require 10 yrs old, least round here.

Maybe ask around the track and see if any of the dads there have a thought. Some of them must be running kid karts? Its obviously too steep a buy in for casual interest. Gotta be a way to rent/borrow one.

1 Like

Six is old enough to drive a kid kart. The challenge is finding a place/opportunity to drive one though. Time to chat with the tracks and teams again.

Go to the track, bring their bicycle. If they’re riding around before practice, at lunchtime, while you’re loading up, then there’s interest, and they know the track for the first time they drive a kid kart around.

4 Likes

Mine started at indoor/rental karting doing ultra-slow laps the first few times, then suddenly ramped it up one day.

1 Like

You’d be surprised what they can pick up and how quickly. For a 6yr old you’d need a dedicated kid kart (smallest chassis made).

If you’re hesitant to drop the money on a kart and gear without knowing how interested your child is you can first take them to watch some kid kart races and gauge their interest. From there make friends with one of the kid kart dads and see if you can pay to rent or buy them beer to allow your kid to try out their kart on a practice day.

1 Like

Not the smallest chassis. Smallest is bambino for up to 7years. If the kid’s 6 already no point getting bambino.

Next one up is micro or cadet size, good from 7-10 yrs- that’s the one you want to start them in.