Getting Started in Karting LO206 or Rok?

So I am new to karting and am planning on starting out with LO206 karts for my first season. I’m probably going to rent a lo206 kart for the first couple of races, but I was wondering if there was a possibility to race like one season in lo206 karts that I rent and then switch to the Rok senior class. I just feel like since Rok is where I want to end up then I should just focus on purchasing a Rok kart instead of a lo206.

Also, could anyone tell the average durability of the Rok engines and the average cost per season racing in Rok senior?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Easy peasy assuming you have lo206 and TAG available in the area. Same chassis would be fine for both.

Im not familiar with cost to run ROK.

So is it possible to buy a lo206 kart and race in the lo206 class and then switch the engine for a rok gp or something similar and race it in Rok senior without buying a new kart?

In principle yes. Pretty much all kart classes that use one engine have the ‘same’ base technical regulations with regard to chassis. There can be differentiations however that may allow for fitment of engines and thus we get slight confusion, which is understandable. For example, and I am no LO206 expert, all the karts I’ve seen have a missing third (middle) bearing hanger. This is common when manufacturers build ‘4-stroke’ models. The LO206 has inboard drive. There also can be issues with stuff like seat mount placement.

Always best just to read the regulations if you are in doubt.