Getting Started in New England

Hello All,

Looking into getting into karting in new england. Complete noob, wanting to start in LO206. I am 33 years old, mechanically capable, have no HPDE or track experience and hoping to use LO206 to get started.

I am located in MA but am currently house shopping in southern NH.

What karting locations/organizations exist in my area?
Any recommended kart shops?
Id prefer to buy used, and am really just looking to get a little seat time by the end of the year.
Recommended online kart shops?

I suppose the long and short is, I dont know what I dont know, so any advise, tips, tricks, or recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ginsy

1 Like

Welcome! @E13 is up your neck of the woods and might have insight.

I get to help someone!! I race world formula in the NHKA series. It’s the biggest class there with an average of 20 karts.
In terms of chassis, I’d get a 4 stroke specific chassis from one of these brands (most supported in the NH region) DR, MacMinarelli, praga, And maybe CRG. DR and MacMinarelli have dealers in NH, and make up 60-70% of karts in NH.
In terms of engines, get a 206 if you plan on racing in more than just the NHKA, but get a world formula if you only want to race in the NHKA for a few years. Both are very similar upfront costs, and the exact same maintenance costs. WF is a little bit faster, and very popular in the NHKA
I’d recommend going to the DR or Mac dealer and buying a used kart from them, as it’ll be cheaper than new and in good condition. As well as having plenty of parts and service help locally.
Nhka.net has lots of information as well
Feel free to ask me any questions I’ll do my best to help

2 Likes

Call my old friends - Roger Hargens at Prospeed Kartsports, 508-341-3845, Mike Camarra at CFMotorsports 508-588-2355, and George Vorrilas at Apex Kart, 978-479-7974.

Any of them will be able to get you set up with a kart.