Hello, getting back into karting (SKUSA shifter racer from 20+ years ago) and new to the forum

Where are you located?

Central Fl

What age bracket are you in? Junior (<16), Senior (16+) or Masters (30+)

Masters, but will race Sr or Pro category if available.

On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your mechanical ability, or willingness to wrench on things?

10, I’m a mechanical engineer who designed and built my own hotrod from scratch, and I have patented systems I designed and installed (in first implementation cases) operating in power plants across the world. I also helped my dad develop our shifter engine package back in the day. I have a machine shop at my house, mill, lathe, TIG, press, etc…

Talk a little about your racing experience so far.

-Motocross age 7-12

-Dirt karting at Speedway park in Fruitland Park Fl 1988-1996, in “jr 2 cycle” and then in “open motorcycle” driving 500cc two stroke karts my dad built from scratch.

-125 shifters 1999-2002, had a S1 win at Ocala in 2002 Winter Tour, raced Superpro on the SKUSA promoto tour in 2002, best place was 5th at Barrie GP

What’s the main thing you need help with to get you started.

Nothing, just saying hello. This looks like a great forum. I just picked up a couple 2023 401rr Tony’s with Tillotson 225’s for my son and I to race at Orlando. We did the pro league rentals four times and decided to take the plunge. I never really raced “slower” karts, but I am finding that the racing and driving is super fun. My son in 26 and was never into karting (skater, BMXer), but he has the bug, and apparently has the speed gene too, he is super fast. I won 3 of the 4 league races we did against 10-15 guys, and he was on the podium every time. Anyway, looking forward to some fun racing and to getting familiar with the forum.

8 Likes

Welcome back! The Masters Shifter categories are alive and well, and waiting for you to come to your senses and get back in a shifter kart :joy: