Help Needed Getting Started with a Comet Eagle

Hey guys new to karting and looking for some answers. I’m in northern California, specifically chico ca, I’m new to this but have enough mechanical skills to build a car or a kart or dirt bike or lawn mower… almost anything… from the ground up.

I’ve never raced or anything so I’m totally clueless. So i need help with everything. I just went for it and bought a kart offline for 500 bucks. I can’t identify what type of motor this is ( size, brand, class limitations)… I also don’t know anything about the chassis but I know it is a comet eagle. Now I don’t know what size, or year, or what classes I can race this type of kart in, what this style kart is called. To get the thing running right off the bat I know I need a spark plug, some fuel line, throttle cable, motor mount and a chain.

I don’t know what size spark plug and not sure how to pick a motor mount or anything. My focus right this minute is to get the kart running. So if someone could identify the motor and give me an idea of what spark plug I need is that’d be a great start

Welcome Devin. Looks like you jumped in at the deep end, but it’ll be fun. A Comet Eagle is a decent chassis.

Upload some pics and let’s see what you have engine wise etc.

Ohhh hahaha I completely forgot to add my pictures my bad here they are

Looks like a 100cc piston port. Made by comer 95-97 I think. They were raced in a junior class, but they are a reasonably high performance engine, round 20-22HP and will spin 16,000+ RPM. As a result, they usually need some attention (Crank seals, carb rebuild) before they will fire up (or at least run well) after sitting up.

Plug wise, NGK B9 or B10 heat range is correct for on-track running. You can start it up and let it run without much of a load for a while safely on a B6 which is found in many road cars. 14mm thread, 1.25 pitch. 19mm reach.

Do you have an external starter for it?