Help on setup for CRG Heron x30

Hi guys,sorry for the trouble but im new to karting.I have a Crg 2019 Heron kart with a Iame x30 engine.Im really enjoying karting and im around 1 second slower to the very front liners which have much more experience than me.

We race in very high grip condition as the tarmac is quite new.Currently i weigh around 83kg and im finding that the heron frame is quite ‘stiff’/grip biased at the rear which seems very difficult to have the wheel to lift.What normal settings can be done to try to bring more ‘balance’ and compensation for the rear grip bias?Thanks and sorry for the long post

Hi Matthew,

The general things you can do to increase the amount of wheel lift you’re getting and help the kart turn in would be:

• widen front track width
  • increase caster
  • stiffen front bar
  • move weight forward
1 Like

This is an older guide, but the basic principles of the adjustments and their effects are still relevant:

2005 CRG_Kart_Tuning_Manual from SSC.pdf (1.2 MB)

Cheers for your reply:),Just to confirm if im heading to the right route,im running low ride height at the front and the rear.I beleive with the low ride height i will have less jacking effect but the kart seems more free and less tiring to drive.Is this contradictory to the supposely wheel lift i need?,i recently tried to run a softer axle as well which made the kart more free and easier to drive as well,but to get to the same lap
Times i just needed to add another seat strut to the ones i already had.

Unless you have a compelling reason to run the low ride height settings, I would run middle on both front and rear and tune from there.

Also, 1 second starting out is not bad at all! It may feel like a bit of mountain to climb at this point, but really for starting out that’s pretty impressive.

Out of curiosity, where do you race and what tires (Tyres :smiley: ) do you use?