IAME 175 SSE Rod lower end inspection

I’ve got an IAME 175 SSE that I have run all season, about 10 club events which I think is about 10 hours of run time. The engine is probably not ready for a crank rebuild yet, but is there a way to gauge how much life might be left in the bottom end. The info sheet from IAME says to replace the rod when there is .0005in ovalization. Have any of the smart and talented folks on this message board been able to measure this with the engine assembled? I’m a Tool and Die maker by trade and I have the proper indicator to measure this small increment but I haven’t had the cylinder apart to attempt this yet. How much clearance should I see in the lower rod bearing. I think with the cylinder off and crank at top dead center I could measure play with the rod vertical and then rotate the rod, but not the crank, almost 90 degrees and check clearance again. The difference in readings would be ovalization. Am I crazy or could his work? What are other members experiences with checking rod bore ovalization with engine assembled? Thanks for your input.

10 hours is a bit of a toss up. In my experience with the 175 SSE, I’ve had rod assemblies that I’ve ran for 20+ hours without issue, and others that have failed around 10+. If you’re easier on equipment then longer intervals become more likely. Also depends on what oil you’re using and mix ratio.

I see what you’re onto, but I’m not sure it’s possible to completely isolate the portion that you’re actually trying to measure, and do so accurately. In theory you could be capturing play in the lower rod bearing itself, as well as the main bearings. I suppose radial play of the con rod could be a proxy, but I’m unsure what “good” would be.

@Charles_Kaneb recently mentioned that he put 40+ hours on a bottom end, so maybe he has some secrets he can share!

1 Like