IAME ignition help

I’m new to karts and 2-strokes. Bought a used kart for daughter to get into karting
with a IAME Leopard and it will not fire. Pulled the plug and laid it on the head while cranking to look for a spark, got nothing.

Disconnected the coil input wire. Tested the coil and it will spark the plug when you brush 12v to the input of the coil.

Found the White and Light Gray wire output a pulse from the Stator when motor is spun over. 12v is going to the separate electronic ignition box (it has an “A” on the box).

Not sure what else to check. I wish there was a actual wiring diagram showing the wire color and pin number/function. The ignition box is all sealed and looks like a throw away item, but I have no way to test it to see if that is the problem and a new one is $200.

Thanks for any help!

Brian

Stator 2

Not seeing the grounding strap off the coil to the engine. Could be you are not getting enough of a ground to fire properly. The grounding strap is a flat braid of copper wire. Should attach to the outside face of the coil and ground to the block between the rubber standoff and the block.

Do you have a friend whose coil you could try?

Troubleshooting these is a lot easier with an oscilloscope, could you borrow one?

I like Greg’s suggestion, and would recommend filing all grounds until they are shiny.

A Oscilloscope is like a multimeter right? Never heard that term before?

An oscilloscope is a multi-parameter display, usually with time on the x axis and voltage on the y axis. This allows you to see AC or frequency-modulated signals and troubleshoot circuits that aren’t at constant voltage.

Now that.

Is why I’m not a electrician.

1 Like

Also, start with a rebuild kit, for your carb. Those types needs rebuilds…

An oscilloscope is a thing that makes squiggly lines on a tiny tv screen that only spark farmers understand.

2 Likes