Input Needed- Cargo Trailer Purchase

So next week I’ll officially be on the hunt for my first cargo trailer. With that being said, like everything I do, I am no expert. So with that being said I’m looking for advice. What should I being looking at?

New or used?

What brand, or at least, what brands to avoid?

Best size? (Thinking 7x16 or 8.5x18)

Options? V-Nose? Electric brakes?

I have up to $8,000 to spend.

And of course, any lessons learned from those who bought a trailer and regretted something they wish they knew before hand?

If I had it my way, I’d have room for both karts and something big enough to build a sleeping quarters.

Here is one I’m considering . . .

So I’ve only owned one enclosed trailer, so I don’t have a big sample size to choose from, but I have a 7x14 vee nose and have been pretty happy with it in general. It has plenty of space to nicely lay out your mobile workshop, but would probably be pushing it to have any meaningful sleeping setup, the extra 2 feet of the 7x16 could probably make something work if you got creative. I like the vee nose, and will be fabricating a built in workbench to fit the vee, and plan to mount a tool chest under the bench in the vee. At that size any trailer would have electric brakes, when I was shopping for mine, I found most had brakes on one axle, mine has them on both.

One thing to add, I personally found when looking at 6 wide, and 7 wide trailers, that I found very few decent deals on used trailers, and found I could get a new trailer for a touch more than average used price.

1 Like

With that size trailer I would guess you have a decent tow vehicle. However, in my experience wind resistance is as much of a consideration as weight. My trailer has a slight v nose with no slant to the roof. I would prefer a more drastic vee and a slanted roof. Its a tradeoff of max space or wind resisitance.