Kt 100 power

hi guys and gals, I have a spare kt 100 and I would like to get more hp out of it. I am not going to race it, just going to hot lap it. please let me know what would increase power. thanks, chuck

Pipe (DD87) and an EC Birt methanol carburetor.

thanks charles, how much power do you think a methanol kt 100 would make. thanks , chuck

I am no expert, but I thought the RLV pipes made to be used with a high engagement clutch (L4) produced more power than the DD pipe.

I am not an engine builder, but I am not sure alcohol itself will make more power. I think it just allows it because it runs cooler. As a result you can bump up the compression as a result get more power. So I think alchohol, carb change, and more compression. The carb has to support extra flow rates that alcohol requires.

thanks charles, I was looking for some kind of direction. methanol sounds cool cause I,ll get a carb and raise the cr. and that will do it? chuck

How’s this engine setup now and how much are you willing to spend on this experiment?

Even if you manage to find parts used (there’s not a big market for open KT stuff) you’re still probably looking at $300-400 to get a carb for alcohol / fuel pump / pipe / header / flex and then you need the knowledge to make them all work together which isn’t going to be readily available these days.

Factory walbro won’t pump enough fuel to support alcohol so you are relegated to “traditional” fuels if you stick with the Wb3a

Any other changes to help power are going to require machine work. Cut more material off the piston skirt, raise the exhaust port, cut the head depending on how much it may or may not have already been cut, IF you raise compression and put a proper expansion pipe on it you need to decrease timing if you’re running pump gas.

Finally you have to consider how much power the clutch can handle. May need to go to wet clutch instead of dry clutch to keep the clutch happy at higher power levels.