Lo206 Clutch Removal Method

I am new to the Lo206 environment and am looking to do a routine maint. on my clutch.
From the videos I have seen, the motor has to be unbolted from the frame to get to the primary clutch bolt. Would it be easier to drill a hole through the seat so you could run the impact driver on the bolt without engine removal?
I think a plastic hole plug could be available to put in the seat for when you are driving, or just leave the hole open. Maybe just use tape on it to keep the road grime out.
Thoughts?

Just unbolt and move the engine. You probably have to to get the clutch off anyway. You’re gonna make life harder on yourself trying to work between the seat and the engine even if you can.

1 Like

Yeah, I’m with @CrocIndy on this one. Removing the motor from the mounts is loosening two bolts and then unscrewing the carb cover/throttle cable part. Our club president has made a LO206 stand that a bunch of us have purchased that holds the motor at an angle making it much easier to perform oil changes on it. It’s basically a rectangle frame welded to two uprights at a 35ish degree with some slight outriggers to stead it. I’d highly suggest that you look at doing something like that instead of drilling a hole in your seat just for a drill attachment. Your body will thank you. It’s so much easier to service the motor when it’s out of the kart.

(Sorry for the messy work bench, this was during winter storage)

1 Like

Thanks for the info.
Are stands similar to these available anywhere?
Although my forum post was a question about clutches, I have seen some videos showing Lo206 cases being opened and there is a large case web inside that separates the engine oil in two areas. Does your 35-degree angle facilitate the removal of all engine oil? If the oil drain plug is pulled while the engine is level, it looks like 25% stays in the engine and doesn’t get changed.
I really like the engine stand… Pointers??