Low End/High End/Idle on x30

Hey guys,
I run the IAME x30 TaG and I’m trying to figure out the best engine adjustments to run at. I’m trying to not mess with tuning too much because I’m still learning driving habits, but what do you guys go after for a good baseline? I’ve heard a lot of different things from different people, but I’d like to get a few more opinion.

My kart isn’t stalling out while idling and blowing a lot of white smoke while on the stand, so I’m assuming it’s a bit rich. I’ve also had people tell me that if my kart doesn’t stall while idling, it’s not a good thing.

Overall I have a few questions:
-What RPM do you like your kart to idle
-What EGT do you shoot for (during general practice sessions)
-What adjustments do you make and when do you decide to make them?

The X30 will usual idle a little, so wouldn’t worry about that.

EGT typically should be around 1100-1130. Typically if it’s a little low, I tweak the high speed needle in leaner by an 1/8 turn or so.

1 Like

Should I be adjusting my low end carb with my idle needle, or leave the two adjustments completely separate?

I’ve never touched the idle on an X30 before.

1 Like

Neither have I, but I’m lazy, rather than good.

Update. I’ve adjusted the high speed and low speed needles and it’s changing the RPM, but still producing way too much white smoke while idling. Could it possibly be from mixing too much oil in the fuel? I’m currently using one quart per four gallons of 110.

What are you comparing the smoke level to?

It’s not unusual for a LOT of smoke to come out at idle because so much raw fuel is being dumped in the exhaust due to port timing.

White still makes me concerned… It it consuming water?