More performance from Rotax Max evo by changing airbox?

Hi,

I am checking my recently bought first Rotax Max Evo kart, and find it strange that the air intake is pointed to the rear of the kart.

My background is in motor racing, and there we wanted the air pressed in the airbox for more performance ( Ram-air )

Does anyone know if there is more performance to gain when I modify the inlet towards the front of the kart?

I do not need to follow rules because it is just for fun riding. And there is no dust on our track, only grass :slight_smile:

Also, I have a question about the air filter. It is soaked wet with some blue oil. I can imagine that it is harder to breathe when it’s this wet.

Is it better to get a new dry filter?

Here some pictures:

That airbox In mandatory if you are going to any Rotax races, anyway i highly doubt you will fell or see any gains In laptime if you change it.
The blue oil In the filter is either from when the filter was new, or added last time it was cleaned, there are dirrerent opinions on the filteroil, we use a very light coat on outside.

Thanks Bjorn,

But i do not go to Rotax Races , so no restrictions for me :slight_smile:

Do you know if there is performance to find when i modify the intake towards the front of the kart?

And can i wash out the filter with something like brake cleaner?

1 Like

I found out that KZ shifter karts use ram air

you can wash the air filter and yes its filter oil that im seen on the picture but its to mutch !!

the filter can be wash with water and cleaner like soap and then dry in the sun . Sometimes as a quicker method i wash them with gasoline but thats bad for the filter in the long run .

after its cleaned up you have to apply just a little filter oil to the outside skin of it before installation

1 Like

What do you think of the airbox modification idea?