Need Help: Is this a decent used kart? (1st timer)

So I’m looking to buy my 7 year old his first kart. We are new to karting. He has a 5 year old brother who is coming up right behind him. I’m looking for a decent used kart to let them beat around while they are learning.

I’ve found this for sale. The guy said he bought it 2nd hand last year and his son was afraid to drive it. So it’s sat unused since he bought it. He initially had it listed for $2000 and cut it to $1800. With me just asked how flexible price was, he dropped it to $1500.

I have no clue what I’m looking at or how to tell if this thing is in brutal shape or is serviceable. I know the engine and cart stand are worth a decent amount, I just woundn’t want to have to dump another 1k in it to get it going. But maybe it’s a great deal…I’ll let ya tell me! Thanks!

I’m no expert but if it runs this seems like a good deal, considering the engines are kind of hard to find and you will pay almost 1500 for a new one anyway. It’s also a TonyKart so you shouldn’t have trouble finding parts. Everyone always says go to your local track and see how popular the classes are and what brands have local support, which is really good advice.

Thanks Yousef. The local track owner is who found this listing for me. So good to go in that department.

As is often the case with used karts what you can’t see matters more than what you can see. The motor looks good but if it hasn’t been cared for (oil changed every outing, fuel drained when stored) or has a lot of time on it may not be worth much or will need a refresh. Similar with the chassis, what does the bottom look like and is the frame straight? If it has a lot of kerb rash or has been in a heavy hit the value goes down. The kart stand is decent and would be $300 new.

With that said if some of this can be checked out it is likely worth $1000 - $1500, if the motor is on the newer side or cared for maybe even more.