Need help starting in karting

Where are you located?

(Long Island, New York)

What age bracket are you in? Junior (<16), Senior (16+) or Masters (30+)

(Junior)

On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your mechanical ability, or willingness to wrench on things?

(0 - Mechanical ability, 10 - willingness to wrench on things)

Talk a little about your racing experience so far.

(I have no IRL racing/karting experience, due to my parents not having time to bring me to a kart track nor sometimes the closest kart track doesn’t run the rental league. My parents don’t want to purchase a kart yet since I have little to no experience and I can crash the kart very easily, which will cost money to fix. The closest kart track, is really a kart track. Its just a karting association racing in a parking lot.)

What’s the main thing you need help with to get you started.

(I looking/need a team or a coach that could help me get started. Most of the time my parents don’t have time or they aren’t willing to bring me there (ex; tracks are too far away, like Oakland Valley Race Park [2 hour drive]). My parents primarily want me to focus in school, and they said they’ll let me do karting as long as I get good results in school.)

If anyone has any tips and suggestions, please feel free to let me know! Thank you in advance!

Brandon,

1 Like

Sounds like a great opportunity to get what you want and your parents too. See if maybe they will commit to something if you’ll commit to something.

Something along the lines of:

Mom, Dad,
I know that school is super important and that I need to do well. I also really am serious about wanting to race karts. I’ve done some research and there’s a rental series that runs at X location every other Saturday. I’d really like to participate in it. You said, you’d let me do karting if I did well in school, so maybe we can come up with a plan and I can show you how serious I am.