New To Karting Looking For Advice

Hi Everyone,

I’m brand new In every sense of the word. Just found and signed up to the wonderful forum, and brand spanking new to karting.

I’m from New Zealand, so I hope that sits all right on here even though you are America based.

I’ve been busy reading the topics on karting etiquette, advice, and tips. I’ve followed the link and bought Terrence’s book, and I have done a grand total of one session at the track on my new (to me) Arrow X1 Rotax Max. It was pretty eye opening with a damp track, slick tyres, and low temps.

I’m wondering if someone would be generous enough to go through some basic driving tips as I’m nervous now that Terrence’s book may not be for a beginner.

I have heaps of questions for you all but will try not flood things all at once.

1 Like

Welcome!

That book is like drinking from the firehose. Lots of great information, but you can’t do it all at once to start with. Get some practice days by yourself (and maybe a helper) and just try things when nobody is around. Just concentrate on one thing at a time, such as braking. Get comfortable with that, find the limits, and then go over them to learn what to do when it happens. Then pick something else, and so on.

I just started this year as well, but have gone from - I have no idea what I’m doing with a kart (coming from car setup) - to I need to setup a narrower front end for this track and less pressure on the outside tires to start with than the inside ones and adjust from there…

Above all though - have fun. When it stops being fun, take a break and step back. Do it for you, not for anyone’s approval or recognition.

Good luck!

1 Like

Welcome to Karting (from Aus). There are a few of us from the southern hemisphere :+1: