New to Karting :O

Hello all,

I am new to all of this “GO Kart racing” and i was wanting to know if there any good youtuber’s that build and race their go karts? like a channel for gokarts only? also is their like a offical name for go kart racing??

Thanks

Hey @hateeb123456! Welcome to the forums and to karting.

So, in the public sphere we hear the sport called a lot of things. ‘Go cart’ racing, ‘carting,’ etc. Probably the most popular ones most of us use, and consider ‘proper’ would be “karting” or “kart racing.” Lately, I have taken to explaining what I do as “High-performance kart racing” to people.

Like any sport, there are officiating bodies, rules, and a culture surrounding the sport of karting. However, there isn’t one godly decree that determines what you are allowed to call karting. Like all sports, part of the reason we are all so passionate about it is because it means different things to different people.

There are lots of channels out there on YouTube for karting, although I would argue non on the same level as other sports at the moment. It is exceedingly rare for kart racers to truly build their own karts from scratch, as many manufacturers offer amazing products, and most series and racing programs require chassis to be ‘approved’ or ‘homologated.’

With that said, here’s a few YouTube channels you may enjoy:

1. True Racer. He has some great karting ‘documentaries’ of his racing weekends.
  2. Kart 360. While not as active now as they used to be, they have some great videos, how-to instructions, etc. Really solid productions.
  3. Power Republic. Derek down in Australia sure makes karting things look easy while doing them all upside down. Really informative channel. I honestly have learned a lot from him.
  4. SKUSA media. Love them or hate them…they do have some solid ‘hype’ type videos. Less substance, more flashy stuff.