Nice Pipes!

There’s been a lot of talk about KA pipes lately, not sure if anyone noticed.

It got me to thinking, as I am new to 2 cycle racing after years of 206 racing, how important is the age of your pipe??

I have 2 used pipes with multiple years of use on each, as I always buy my stuff used. Is there a way to refurbish used pipes, or is it better to just buy new?

How much effect does the age of the pipe have on performance vs new, assuming they are both the same length?

Talk to Sieracki, he actually knows a way to clean the pipes to make them decent for most use. At the top level some teams will swear by running new pipes almost every weekend, but I wouldn’t worry about it that much.

I ran the same pipe from 2018 through last year, still use it when I do get on track, and don’t feel like I’m losing anything due to the age of my pipe.

It’s a small amount but I do have a practice pipe and a race pipe because an old pipe with lots of carbon build-up could be slower. Not a huge deal racing locally or even regionally.

Just take end cap off clean little holes with cleaner…

I spoke to my builder about this topic last year and his immediate answer to “do pipes get slower with age” was Yes, but when I drilled down and told him that I take the cap off regularly and clean it his answer changed to - It’s not likely a gain for you.

I got a new pipe when I bought a second engine 2 years ago and never used the thing, but I clean mine regularly to make sure it’s in good working order. I took them both to a test day last year and tested them back to back and saw no performance improvement. Being lazy I just left the new on on there cause it looked nice and wasn’t rusted to hell, but it wasn’t any faster than my 4 year old pipe that was cleaned regularly.