OK vs KZ / EUROPE

Hello,

I am new to karting, based in Europe and I am wondering what’s your opinion on OK vs KZ, if I want to get serious about this, on which category should I focus? Along with kart suggestions, teams, etc.

Thank you!

@tankyx thoughts? Iirc you ran ok junior euro.

@Calin where in Europe are you located?

Start with a single engine make series. X30 is very popular in most European countries. There is also Rotax and Rok. Look to see what is most popular and supported near you.

OK and KZ is the serious deep end of the pool and is normally only raced at the national championship and international levels.

3 Likes

@Bimodal_Rocket in Bucharest.
@Paul_Montopoli and isn’t that where all the fun is?

Ok Tanguy might have thoughts about euro teams but he was based in France.

Since you are new, a lot of this is really going to rely on what’s available in your area. Have you had a chance to visit your local tracks?

Yes, but I’m not a believer in that.
Nowadays you can order whatever you want from wherever you want.

Sure, you can order whatever you want…. But it’s probably not going to yield you the results you seek.

If you plan being serious, you’ll want serious support too…. Especially if you’re intending to go with open manufacturer classes like OK and KZ.

What tracks are around you?
By available I mean more than just brands, but the specific classes.

No point in buying an x30 if there’s only an OK class at your tracks and vice versa.

1 Like

It depends on your talent, resources (money and team), and experience. If you don’t have all those in spades, then you will not have fun. Do not underestimate how difficult karting is.

2 Likes

Here is a shop located on the North/Northeast side of Bucharest. They are located on a kart track as well. The National Series is Romanian Karting Masters. They run Vortex ROK GP engines, a good platform. That’s where I would start, on one of the Formula K chassis supported by Grozea Racing and a Vortex ROK GP.