OTK handling question - front/rear weight

hey guys!

I have heard with OTK the front/rear recommended weight distribution is 41-43% on the front if have the kart on some scales.

my question is if I set the kart up to have more weight on the front end does that increase front end grip or reduce it? I’m still learning the black art of kart tuning and wondering what the impact would be if I have more or less weight on the front tires on the scale

thanks!

My experience with the OTK is that weight distribution is important. It’s good the get the kart to handle properly with the neutral settings on reasonable grippy track by weight distribution. If the kart pushes excessively, I’d move the weight forward. For whatever reason, I always run the seat more forward than recommended. I’m short and light and have to run 50# of lead to make weight, so that might be why.

There’s no concrete answer to that. Higher front weight will make the steering heavier but reduce the amount of weight on the seat area of the kart, which is how you generate flex and sidebite and inside rear wheel lift. So while it might make the front feel “grippier”, it might also deter the rear from releasing the inside rear wheel and make the kart flatter.

But it depends where you are in the window of tuning. A kart can react differently depending on so many variables, you can’t tune it in your shop.

1 Like

Baseline setup for an OTK in a TaG class gives 43% front weight.

1 Like

this 100% go to the track and test

huh thanks guys. the more i learn about karts the more wacky they seem to me hahah

so for a rear brake only 80 shifter on evinco blue tires racing at 375lbs what would you set the kart up as a baseline for front/rear weight on a scale? sounds like 43% is good starting point and then tune it at the track from there?