Pre 2015 Tony Kart brake fluid

Folks, can someone set me straight regarding proper brake fluid for older Tony Kart SA-2 rear caliper. Is it DOT 5.1 that I should use?

Also, had a hell of a time trying to bleed the system today on out kart. I have a single OTK master cylinder and the only way I can figure to flush the system is fill the
Master reservoir nearly full and pump brake pedal million times… I can not fill up the lines by doing so… is there a Better way?

You get one of these and it screws onto the master cylinder. You open the valve and gravity does the rest.

At the caliper, you also remove a bolt which allows hte fluid to be pushed through the system.

I get it… but I have a BSM4 master cylinder which only has an aluminum holding tank and no plug to attach the bleeder tower…

Also - guys, I have SA-2(BS6) rear caliper… pretty sure our kart is pre-2014 Racer 401… am I supposed to use DOT 5.0 brake fluid?

I anticipate a struggle bleeding this deal…

Probably for peace of mind use silicone fluid dot 5.0

Tonykart/OTK have messed around with brake fluid spec. over the years starting? with glycol based fluid dot3.dot 4. then going to silicon dot 5.0 and currently dot 5.1 which I class as glycol. The spec in 2014 was apparently Dot 5.0 silicone.

As I understand it, if any brake fluid is going to attack any seals it is the glycol fluids. Dot 5.0 silicon is safe with everything.

However, personally, I doubt if there has been a European kart brake made in the last 20 years with seals that would be attacked by Dot3,Dot4,Dot 5.0 or Dot 5.1 fluid. but…

So, you have a BSM4 master cylinder (Pumper type with reservoir) and a BS6 caliper (Self adjusting, no pad pull off springs ?

Good pics. of all the brakes at www.cometkartsales.com /Tonykart parts.