Racing a KZ in the Far East

Hello everyone! My name is Felix Yeung and I am a KZ driver from Hong Kong. When Davin asked if I would be interested in sharing my experience racing a KZ, I thought it would be really cool and here I am! I very much look forward to learning from all of you! :smile:

Google Photos
Yep! This is me at the Macau International Kart Track paddock!

Google Photos
Weighing after a qualifying session

So my experience as a driver is that after finishing my undergraduate programme in Vancouver, B.C., I returned to Hong Kong trying to get into Motorsports as a racing driver. Since there are no race tracks in Hong Kong, information about the industry is limited and basically every time I wanted to do anything with racing I need to cross a border with customs and everything. The closest tracks are in nearby cities like Macau, Zhuhai, and Shenzhen: they are either a ferry trip or a few hours’ ride away.

After a lengthy research I started my journey with a then startup racing school Hong Kong Racing School for Motorsports in 2012 where I learned the basics in driving via indoor karting and rental KT100’s. I also had my first Rotax experience with them.

Google Photos
One of my first serious attempts in racing, trying out a rental indoor at a local kart track in Dongguan, China

Google Photos
The type of rental KT100 I practiced and raced with at Xtreme Speedway, Shenzhen, China

After some practices I did a year and a half racing intensively with rental KT100’s 2013-2014 and later got into Rotax Max senior class thanks to my current team RPM Karting in Macau at the end of 2014. I did a total of 6 weekends in Rotax from 2015-2016 and went on to race a KZ at the end of 2016. Now I have done 3 race weekends in KZ at national events organised by Automobile General Association Macao-China(AAMC): Macau’s ASN and the very same organiser of the Macau Grand Prix.

Google Photos
Racing in Rotax Max Senior in Macau, China