Rotax Max Fuel system issue

Hi all, I’m completely new to the karting life.
Long story short I’ve been reading through a few forums for probably about a year or so on bits to do with karting etc and I finally took the plunge. Great forum by the way.

However since I’m completely new I’m stuck with a small (hopefully) problem, the Carb has been cleaned, new tank fitted and new fuel lines all round, when priming the fuel to the carb the instant I stop priming air bubbles quite rapidly back out of the fuel inlet on the carb and fill the fuel line back to the pump.
Doesn’t seem to do it when running however on shut off instantly fills the line with air is this normal? When starting with just a little bit of air in the system the air doesn’t seem to move along the line hence my thinking fuel pump(I had to double check the fuel pump markings at this point make sure I’d not put it on wrong) I’ve just rebuilt the fuel pump as it was suggested on another post so will try that later on. Just didn’t know if I’m missing anything simple. Any advice or input greatly appreciated. I do have a couple of other bits to sort being a shorty 5ft-3 with the seat pedals and steering column but if I get stuck Il post in the relevant section.

Cheers all glad to be part of the fun finally :grin:
Daniel

1 Like

Can you post pictures and how are you priming the carb?

High Tony thanks for the reply, priming wise I was told to blow into the small tank to pressurise the system fuel flows through into the carb no problem. I’ve just installed the rebuilt pump and so far seems fine unless upon starting it stalls and the choke is open.
However my next problem is getting it to idle will run no problem if I hold the throttle but that’s it, mix screw is set at 1.75 turns the throttle screw makes no difference. My little problem doesn’t seem so little haha
IMG_20190406_154910

Next time, try pulling the fuel line off of the carb until fuel is running out the line, the reconnect it to the carb.