Safety equipment questions

Hi KartPulse, I just started karting at my local track and have a couple questions about safety equipment.

I’m buying my own helmet and am looking at a couple neck braces. My track has these: http://www.kartingwarehouse.com/Protection-/-Padding/c9/p154/K1---Karting-Neck-Brace/product_info.html and I was looking at one of these: http://www.accelerationkarting.com/evsr4necksupport-1.html, whats the difference? Honestly, the cheap braces look pretty decent and have more support when your head snaps forward.

Also, are rib protectors really needed? Are they intended to keep you from getting really hurt if you hit the steering wheel? Wouldn’t the seat belt do that? I’m not opposed to them and will buy one if I need to.

Thanks folks!

1 Like

The rib protectors are a must have. Even with rib protectors I have been nursing seperated ribs for a few months. When you turn a kart, your body weight is pressed into the side of the seat, which leads to bruising, or in some cases, fractures.
You really, really want a good rib protector.

The donut type and the other one you linked neck collars are supposed to protect you in a situation when your chin gets slammed into your upper abdomen (I think). If you watch euro videos, they don’t use them at all. I think there’s a lot of debate as to wether they are effective.
You will see a bunch of folks wearing the Valhalla 360 or the leatt brace as well. Those neck braces strive to additionally restrict the movement range of your neck in accidents (sorta like a HANS device but way less effective since they aren’t anchored to the frame).
If you are looking for the best protection you can buy, get one of the aforementioned two options. If you are looking to inexpensively comply with regs, get the donut.