The History of Atlantic-Canadian Kart Racing!

Hello, I am a new user to this forum.

I am a Nova Scotia resident, i’ve lived here for over 2 years now. I am a former base-brat so it’s a place I can finally call home.

For the past year or less, i’ve done some on and off research on the history of Atlantic-Canadian karting. Turns out, it’s quite intriguing. I thought I’d share the research i’ve done by doing a write-up. So, enjoy my attempted Alan Dove impression as I talk about the history of Atlantic Canadian karting.

FYI: This was taken from my website and I modified it a tad. Expect some weird mishaps with embedding, links, etc. Another thing, take my writing skills and research I have written down with a grain of salt. Some of the information I have told throughout this may not be accurate (which is why I added a legend below), and my writing skills aren’t the greatest.

(?) = not confirmed/not sure

Although it’s uncertain on when kart racing in Atlantic Canada started, the first archived footage of kart racing in the maritimes is from the mid 1960’s at Sackville Downs (?). However, my guess is that it was just an exhibition run in-between horse racing.

Actual kart races date back to the 1970’s at a paved loop, located inside a quarry around the Sunny Brae area in Moncton, NB. The track (even though there is no footage or aerial scans of the track as far as I know) was considered extremely dangerous. The danger of the Moncton quarry track led to the creation of Hubbard’s Amusements in the late 1970’s, however its layout was extremely simple with lap times around 15 seconds.