Tire life gauge

So I did a little searching for a topic like this, couldn’t quite find the answer —

Running YLC’s in a sealed animal class (taken 1st all 3 events I’ve ran this season, .5 to 1 sec per lap in front of the guy behind) and I’m really just having trouble gauging how long to run a set of tires. I see the wear dots, but how low do I let them get? Do I run them until the guy who runs behind me starts catching me/until my times fall off? Can I use a tread depth gauge? Ive run these since the first race of the season (3 race days, 5 heats of 10 laps on .75 mile track each) and a couple of practice days too. I’m still improving as a driver so it’s hard to concretely look at my times and say “I need new tires.” I’m a grad student and don’t have a large racing fund, so I’d like to use them for their proper life, but I’m also competitive and don’t want to give up positions I don’t have to.

Literally any insight would be helpful!

depends what you have on the line? I don’t think the fall-off will be so cliff-like that you’ll go from that lap delta to falling behind without a bit of a progressive drop off.

I’m cheap, and like to use every bit of life in my tires; but, i’m rarely at the pointy end of the field, so take my advice with a grain of salt.

2 Likes

My brother and I are in the same situation and trying to figure out the same thing. Our experience with YLC’s thus far has been that after the first session or two they have very little fall off until they are dead, and then you’ll know because they are a handfull to drive.

We’re been fortunate enough to be at the pointy end of our fields too and had theorized that we could get 3 race days competitively out of them before worrying about changing…but I took a set that I thought weren’t going to be competitive any longer and finished 2nd with them at New Castle last weekend proving that we can likely expand our comfort zone to at least 4 race days before turning them into practice tires