Tomorrow is my first day on the track...any advice?

Hello All,
I am new to the sport. I just picked up an FA Kart and I’m excited to be heading out to the track this weekend. Everyone keeps telling me to throw what I “think” I know out the window because it’s nothing like driving at K1 or Pole Position. So now, I’m a little nervous as I don’t want to suck…but the way people are describing it makes me feel like it’s going to be inevitable. Do any of you experienced kart racers have any advice or suggestions? Any techniques I should practice? Anything I should watch?

2 Likes

Hat. Shades. Water. Sunblock.

Seriously.

2 Likes

LOL…Thanks! Will do.

I don’t think I am the ideal person to give you advice about driving a high performance kart, but since your big day is tomorrow already, you must be waiting for tips.

Any karting experience is welcome, even if it’s from a rental kart, so don’t forget it all. The basic theory of the ideal line is still outside-inside-outside.

My advice would be, don’t try to do too much at once. Don’t bother too much about setup, that is only useful if you are anywhere near the limit. Maybe some checks about tire pressure but I think that should be it for the first time.

If you are worried that you annoy the other drivers, please don’t. We all have been there. Just drive your lines and they will find ways to pass you cleanly.

Look further ahead than you are used to, because you reach your marks much sooner.

There is so much more, but first relax and enjoy!

3 Likes

Welcome @Cliff! Where about are you?

What engine\class are you running?

Disagree. It will feel very different, probably a lot more intense. But the principles you learned will apply. Lines, looking ahead, planning, driving without excessive sliding.

You’ll probably suck. That’s OK, Even Gary Carlton got lapped in his first race.

Main technique to practice, relax, have fun. Then when you’re comfortable with the kart start pushing.

4 Likes