Tony Kart vs CRG Advice

I would like to get some opinions on upgrading the frame on my current X30 kart which I have been driving for a couple of years, to either a Tony Kart 401R or a CRG KT2. I have seen some other posts here mentioning local support as being the main deciding point, however in my case local support is limited for both brands (and most of the brands I’m interested in for that matter). That means test driving a frame is also difficult, since I will be limited to trying out other driver’s karts, none of whom I’m comfortable with asking. Results in races also seem to be pretty even between the two.

Given that everything seems even between the two karts, I’m pretty undecided which to go with. Has any one ever switched from one frame to another and has some opinions?

I’ve never driven Tony kart, but I drive a KT2. Tony karts always seem to have the edge over CRG.

I do love the CRG though, if you’re as shallow as me it looks better hahaha

1 Like

I’m an OTK guy through and through, so that would be my recommendation, but I’m basing on that results and experience. The CRG seems to suit gearbox classes better, whereas the OTK stuff seems to work well on all classes, but especially seems suited to the X30 or similar engine packages.

Both are good karts in the end.

1 Like

Well the first big question is going to be where are you from. Since you mention local support not being super strong for either chassis where you are, what brands are supported in the area?

Regarding CRG versus OTK, I’ve run both chassis (CRG under the DR brand) in the past year. The DR/CRG will, generally, require more setup adjustments to get fast, and will likely need more changes when going to a new track. An OTK product is generally good starting at the baseline setup. With small changes for driver preference it’ll be fast right away.