Transponder question

HI, I’m new to the sport and I have a couple of questions on transponders…I know the choice is between a used yellow one (AMB TranX 160) which you pay for once. Otherwise the new ones like MYLAPS X2 have that annoying subscription plan, which I hate.
I did a little bit of research, the shortcoming of buying a used one is that you can’t transfer the ownership on the website, so it will always be under the prior owner. Other than fixing that, what is the advantage of getting a new one?

Andy,

You may want to check with your local racing series or any karting events you plan to attend. Both the older TranX 160 and newer subscription-based devices are fairly reliable, although many have had issues with the 1-year subscription X2’s.

The TranX 160 was implemented prior to MyLaps and Speedhive etc. acquiring AMB, so the subscription issue with those is a bit of a misnomer. You can actually contact MyLaps once you take ownership of someone else’s transponder and have account credentials updated, but usually the timing/scoring team at a track won’t really care or see the account details of a transponder.

Most series will allow you to submit your transponder number directly to timing and scoring, either before or on race day. This ensures that regardless of who the transponder is assigned to, it will work with that series. All of this is typically easily edited by the timing/scoring staff.

Most series utilize a timing system called Orbits, which makes these changes possible. It integrates with AMB and with MyLaps.

Thanks for the clarification! I didn’t know you could ask Mylaps to update the credentials associated with an old transponder, good to know! Thanks again!

1 Like