Trying to Set Up CRG KT2 for Briggs on a Slick, Tight and Technical Track

Hey all.

First, Good evening! New member here!

This is my first kart, and I am completely new to the scene around here (Houston TX)

I spent a number of months reading forums, finding PDFs, watching youtube to try and amass some fundamental knowledge here.

I’ve run 3 race weekends, each of them was a disaster, especially the most recent one. I am going to summarize my most recent setup, experience, and changes - i’m not asking if it’s correct, rather, for the folks who have raced briggs, and perhaps have done so on a bigger chassis (like a X30/rotax) and perhaps find some common ground? Youtube has been difficult - the variables are just too many. most of these people are talking about a single track that ends up being irrelevant because I’ve never driven it.

This track I’m racing at could be described as “green”; its very slick. it’s asphalt, it gets a lot of use with rental karters, the track is very active… but we go out on Saturday morning and its like ice.

Ok so here’s where i’m at:

I had reconfigured the kart to be “Baseline” spec according to CRG. Rear axle UP, front “middle”; I then took the kart to a rather popular regional track for a test day and it handled great. I was continuing to improve times and I never really felt like I was fighting the kart too much - that is to say, the balance was right.

Afterwards, my tires looked like hamburger. I take that to mean they got a good working over and there was nothing really standing out (like one sided wear, etc)

I cleaned them up, and prepped for the race I would be running a week later expecting a similar performance… I was 2 seconds slower than everyone else. I was being left in the dust on the slow corners, the kart was slipping and sliding coming out of every turn…it was Sketchy As Frig!

• Nervous and twitchy on brakes
  • neutral to tight coming into the corner
  • LOOOOOSE to drifting coming out of corners