Tuning my Tillotson /Tonykart 401rr, findings, questions, etc

I am an old SKUSA pro shifter racer from the early 2000’s. My (adult) son Riley and I have been racing the spec tillotson 225rs on some Tony 401rr’s for a year or so now at Orlando, mostly in the league nights where we were winning or on the podium often, and went 1-2 in the last league championship. This year we are doing the Orlando Cup series which is much more competitive, with a Tilly Sr class of around 20 karts. We finished 6th (me) and 9th (Riley) at the first round. The podium was around a half second quicker on the full Orlando track.

We ran the recommended OTK setup from the sheet (OTK seats too), with the seats back 15mm and the minimum caster setting as the only difference. We are using Maxxis T4 tires, 7.1 rear width. This produced around 58.5% rear weight. The karts felt balanced, but just seemed slower than the front runners.

I noticed that all the karts on the podium were setup soft with the seats more forward than ours. No front bar, soft seat, min caster, no seat struts. Also they had a lot of front width and less rear, more like a rain setup.

I did my best to copy that soft setup for some testing yesterday (57% rear weight now with the seat moved back to the stock location) and found that the kart seems to accelerate much better from apex to corner exit, felt more composed on braking, and was generally more enjoyable and easy to drive. It had a more floaty and free feeling, vs the planted feeling from the standard setup. Track temps and ambient were comparable to the race day and I had faster min corner speeds on my used race tires on the new setup yesterday, so I think it is an improvement. The track layout was different so I couldn’t compare lap times.

Questions: