Tuning the X30 engine on track

Hi guys, I’m new to the X30 engine and was wondering about tuning the carby while on track.

I used to race the Yamaha KT100s (or Clubman) aircooled engine many years ago, and it was normal to tune the High needle while driving, to achieve certain engine temperature as the race progressed, but also to lean it off on roll-up laps as to not foul the plug and get a crisp get away off the line.

I’ve been told with the X30 to set the Low jet at 1 turn open, and the High jet at 1.5 turns open and don’t touch it at all while on track. But I noticed a couple more experienced competitors tuning theirs on the roll-up laps of a race. What’s the general rule you guys follow? Cheers.

I definitely remember our regional hot shoe, Bonanno twiddling the dial on track back when I raced x30. Similarly to what you observed, on warm ups.

1 Like

You can dial in the carb a bit on track, aiming to get your EGTs in the correct range but overall it isn’t as drastic of a change as it would’ve been on a KT. Engines these days are more foolproof in that regard but it is still a valuable skill for eeking out the last little bit of time from the motor.

1 Like

Just stay on top of maintenance and it is foolproof. I like to richen up things a bit, I often find good success with low needle in 1:05-1:10 and high 1:30-1:35

Keep membranes in good shape and check reeds and you are good to go

1 Like

With the needle setting being dependent on the popoff pressure… What popoff and hold pressures are you running?

I found it very difficult and risky to adjust the carb during a race on either the X30/KA100 because of the sensitivity of the needle settings, measured in